A Sad Day in Athens, GA: The Georgia Theatre

On Friday, June 19, the Georgia Theatre caught fire and suffered heavy damage. The Georgia Theatre has been an Athens music landmark since the 1980s, playing host to bands including B.B. King, Muddy Waters and Wynton Marsalis, along with home-grown artists like the B-52s, R.E.M., Pylon and the Drive-By Truckers.

I had the pleasure of photographing the St. Patrick’s Day 2006, performance of the local Irish music band, Banish Misfortune. Here are some photos from that performance.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Sad Day in Athens, GA: The Georgia Theatre

  1. Karolyn

    Your shots are so nice.
    I am about to buy a new camera. I am trying to
    decide between the Nikon D5000 & the Nikon D90.
    Know this may seem a bit odd. I want very sharp
    photos, camera that is easy to use, can shoot in
    raw, do some HDR. I love the D90, but like the
    simplicity of the D5000 (would prefer that it did
    not have the variable angle view finder), and the
    less clutered viewfinder. Do you think the D5000
    is having too much trouble to take a chance on.
    What camera do you use?
    Would appreciate your opinion.
    Karolyn

    • Anne Edens

      Hi Karolyn,
      Thanks for your comment on my photos.
      I use a Nikon D50, little sister to the D90. I love my D50 but would probably love any of the Nikon DSLRs as Nikon has the reputation of producing excellent equipment and I can use old Nikon lenses that date back to th 1970’s that were used on Nikon film SLR cameras.

      There will be a learning curve with any camera you purchase. I cannot comment on what is currently available as I have not done any research on them, but my advice is to take the time to go to your local camera shop and handle what you are thinking about getting. If you can, rent or borrow the cameras you are interested in and try them out. I do recommend that you purchase locally from a camera shop that provides you with classes and support.

      Good luck,
      Anne

Leave a Reply

